Corperate Dentistry Vs Private Pratice

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

teli14

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
hi everyone, my first thread. I am in my 3rd year in dental school and looking suggestions on which route should I take. Should I go for private pratice or corporate dentistry? Any advice would be appreicated and help me in my decision. Please give me your reasons which route you would have taken if you were in my place and why.

Thanks again, :)

Members don't see this ad.

If you were starting your own practice, or even purchasing a fixer-upper practice, you may still need to work elsewhere (at least for the first year or two) while building it up. But the hope is that it will give you the lifestyle you may desire, both in terms of financial profitability and independence in your work/life decisions.

If you can, find a dentist who needs an associate in private practice that does the kind of work you would be proud to do and the kind of procedures you would want to do yourself now or in the future. Make sure the fit is good between you personally and try to work there.

You can work in several places and even work part time with a corporate group.

Your first few years out help to set the foundation of your practice philosopy, so find someplace that fits right with you and you'll do fine.

Members don't see this ad :)