Could I get into NYU? NYMC? BU? Temple?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Hedwig

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi!

I'm 21-years-old. I'm a resident of Pennsylvania. I got my B.A. in English last summer from a medium-sized school on Long Island with a good reputation (I think). I'm kind of leaning towards DO school (PCOM) right now, but I was wondering if any of you of the allopathic persuasion give me some advice :)

My DREAM is to go to NYU med, but I'm also really interested in New York Medical College, Temple University, and Boston University? I was wondering, since I'd be happy with either MD/DO, what my chances of getting into these schools are. These are my stats:

Undergrad:

-3.97 GPA; graduated summa cum laude
-Editor-in-chief of college newspaper
-Presidential Honors List Scholar
-Listed in Who's Who Among Students in American Colleges and Universities
-Member of academic honor society
-Founder of behavioral science club
-Lead actor in the college theatre program
-Acted with a professional theatre group once
-Winner, 2001 Technical Writing Contest
-Secretary of Jewish Student Organization
-Studied abroad in Europe with NYU for a semester
-Won extremely competitive award for outstanding scholarship in English.
-Volunteered in an osteopathic free clinic in Philly last summer.
-Have a volunteer internship in a busy ER (+level-one trauma center) in the Bronx this coming summer.