Courses before DAT

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Biologist

Reaction score
I am applying during the 2025-2026 cycle and deciding between taking the DAT either summer 2024 or 2025. Since I am studying biomedical engineering, adding extra courses to my schedule is difficult but possible. I am inclined towards taking the DAT summer 2024 because I don't want to forget concepts from my core classes. However, it seems as though taking certain extra courses can be helpful for the DAT. Below I have listed the courses I plan on taking (or have taken) that could be relevant to the DAT.

I would appreciate any advice about my situation and specific courses.

Before summer 2024:
  • Biology (1 year)
  • General chemistry (1 year)
  • Organic chemistry (1 year)
Before summer 2025:
  • Organic Chemistry Lab*
  • Intermediate Inorganic Chemistry
  • Pre-health Biochemistry
  • Statistics
Possible extra courses before summer 2025:
  • Cell Biology
  • Anatomy & Physiology
  • Microbiology
*Could take before summer 2024

Members don't see this ad.

Make sure your get the most recent copy of the Candidate Guide, which should have the topic outline.

Reactions: 1 users
I am applying during the 2025-2026 cycle and deciding between taking the DAT either summer 2024 or 2025. Since I am studying biomedical engineering, adding extra courses to my schedule is difficult but possible. I am inclined towards taking the DAT summer 2024 because I don't want to forget concepts from my core classes. However, it seems as though taking certain extra courses can be helpful for the DAT. Below I have listed the courses I plan on taking (or have taken) that could be relevant to the DAT.

I would appreciate any advice about my situation and specific courses.

Before summer 2024:
  • Biology (1 year)
  • General chemistry (1 year)
  • Organic chemistry (1 year)
Before summer 2025:
  • Organic Chemistry Lab*