Critique my DIY post-bacc workload

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

putmeincoach

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello, I'm a recent nursing school graduate planning on applying to medical school (MD or DO). Is the workload in my diy post-bacc reasonable? Will I have free time to work (casual/part-time)/research/volunteer? Feel free to suggest any changes :)

Fall 2017:
Bio I (w/ lab), G-Chem I (w/ lab), Physics I (w/ lab)

Winter 2018:
Bio II (w/ lab), G-ChemII (w/ lab), Physics II (w/ lab)

Spring/Summer 2018:
O-Chem I (w/ lab), English I, Math I

Fall 2018:
O-Chem II (w/ lab), English II, Biochemistry (no lab), Math II

Winter 2019:
MCAT – Study January-March 2019. Write end of March -> scores out by May, send App May 2019

*I'm planning on studying lightly for the MCAT during my courses (eg. referencing coursework in an MCAT review book), is this a good idea?

Members don't see this ad.

I'm not sure you'll be able to find wintermester classes for bio2, gchem2, and physics2.

Members don't see this ad :)
Ahh, I see. Well, it might throw a wrench in your scheduling since I'm not sure if you can fit it all in. My school won't let me schedule any classes that would overlap. It's also extremely rigorous for a wintermester if you plan to do it.

Isn't Winter semester only a few weeks? Hard to imagine taking all those classes and retaining anything in such a short period of time.

Ahh, I see. Well, it might throw a wrench in your scheduling since I'm not sure if you can fit it all in. My school won't let me schedule any classes that would overlap. It's also extremely rigorous for a wintermester if you plan to do it.
Mmm, I see. Thanks for the input :)

I think a lot depends on how rigorous your school is, how difficult you find the classes, and what additional things you are doing during that time.