Current Financial Events

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

NittanyKitty

NCSU CVM c/o 2014
10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Is the current economic and financial situation worrying any American students (or international, for that matter) other than me? I'm in my last year of undergrad and am choosing to take the next year to work (applying next cycle), providing I get any sort of a job. What does it mean to be assuming education debts like the ones required for veterinary school at a time like this? I'm seriously losing sleep on worrying about the future. Am I alone in this? :scared:

Members don't see this ad.

You're absolutely right. It is a worrying situation. Even multinational companies aren't hiring now. :scared:

However, I am hoping that considering that veterinary medicine is #9 on the list of jobs that are growing. I think we may be better off than a lot of people who may not be able to find jobs at all. I really hope they actually do pass a legislation for veterinary student debt relief.

I'm worried too! But, I think its a good time to be in the science world, and I'm hoping that will keep jobs in vet med safe. Anyone else have any insight on all this craziness?

Members don't see this ad :)
i've been thinking about it not so much from the long-term job market standpoint (although i guess i should), but just from the taking out federal loans standpoint. any insight into what will happen to interest rates/availability as a result of all this?

I'm worried because I am fortunate enough to have grandparents that gave me money for my education. Unfortunately, it is all invested in the stock market, so in the last few weeks I've seen the amount of school I could pay for dwindle rapidly. :scared:

Hopefully it will turn around, though...or maybe I'll be lucky enough to get into my in-state school!