Current nurse applying in June, advice appreciated.

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Chardeemacdennis60

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello all,

First I will introduce myself and explain what I have done thus far in my application journey. I am currently a full-time registered nurse that will soon turn 26 years old and will therefore be 27 as an M1 if I matriculate after this coming application cycle. I graduated in 2016 from Ohio State with my BSN and have been working in the hospital's Surgical Intensive Care unit as a bedside nurse since graduation. My plan since going to nursing school was to fast-track myself to CRNA school and I was in the process of applying when I had my "epiphany" in 2017 and decided to re-enroll in undergraduate courses to fulfill prerequisites for medical school (I will leave out why I decided to make this change but will gladly talk about it in this thread if anyone is interested). Since 2017 I have been working as a nurse full-time and taking undergraduate classes part-time and I will be done with the 50 credits of perquisites I needed to take after this fall semester is completed. As I mentioned, I will be applying to medical school this coming cycle and have been getting my ducks in a row to prepare for this and I appreciate any advice and suggestions you may have for me.

GPA: 3.85 cumulative, similar core science GPA but exact has not been determined at this time.

MCAT: taking this coming April

Clinical Experience: worked full time as a nurses aid in undergrad, full time nurse since graduation. Roughly +10,000 direct patient care experience through these two roles.