CV

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

doctormans

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am trying to reach out to professors to join research labs. Each one asks for my CV. I have never needed a CV before so I am trying to figure out what to put in the CV and why they ask for the CV so I can tailor it to what they are looking for. I've looked up a ton of template CVs but I just wanted to make sure I understood all the necessities.

CV should include categories for:
Education
Research
Publications
Activities
Leadership
Interests

Am I missing anything? Also if I have little research experience is that a red flag? I worked in a research lab in undergrad but the two papers regarding the work I did won't be published until mid 2021 because it was part of a bigger group. How can I put that in the CV so I can show I at least have that small experience.

Members don't see this ad.

No. That about covers it. Send a trusted professor from undergraduate your CV to review it to make sure it looks like what they typically see. Look up templates for medical school CVs online. It's not a red flag unless you tell people you have experience when you don't. You have to get your feet wet at some point.

Reactions: 1 users
If you put the time in now for a CV, you can just continue to update it and it won't always require a complete overhaul. I've had a CV since undergrad and it's really nice to have moving forward. It also lets you pull things from it when you need to tailor specifics for a resume.

Like BacktotheBasics had said, you got everything you need to cover.

Last edited:
Reactions: 2 users
Members don't see this ad :)
Thanks for the feedback. Can I include the two papers even without them actually being published yet? I know their titles and whats basically included in them but they aren't published. I have an idea of when they will be published but it's also not guaranteed in that time frame.