DAT Breakdown from 17AA to 19AA, 8pt Bio increase

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

chhabneh97

Reaction score
DAT Breakdown:

Background/overall thoughts:
I graduated with a biology degree in 2019, and have worked in various positions (all dental related since then). I felt reluctant to write this, because my score isn’t anything spectacular, but I hope you may take something from this. My GPA wasn't anything exceptional either, but I felt the pressure to start studying during my undergrad. My first attempt in Spring 2019 didn't go as planned. I tried using Kaplan, but with working and full-time school commitments, it was overwhelming. I used DATBootcamp and created my own (poor) study schedule, leaving sections like QR untouched like two days before my exam.
I completed my undergrad at UW and moved to SF right after my first attempt for an AmeriCorps position, here I was directly involved in the SF community and subsequently was offered interviews from UW and UCSF. I ultimately was rejected from both schools due to my low AA. During the pandemic in 2020, I decided to take the DAT again, but my studying was all over the place. I tried DAT Booster this time, but without a disciplined study routine. I was also distracted; I got a puppy and didn’t have strict deadlines, which hampered my progress. I think the pandemic was a weird time for everyone. Some adults still need deadlines, and that’s perfectly ok! I think I am one of those people. I was not studying diligently, or having moments of intentional study time.