DAT Done 6/16

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

lphiewok

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey guys, I just finished my DAT.
I must say I am very relieved.

I started studying for DAT around March 1, and during school I kinda studied but not too hardcore. But starting the summer break (in mid-May), I started studying for about 10 hours / day for about a month.

Studying materials used were: Kaplan Blue Book (started with this, very good overall), Barron's DAT (worthless POS), DAT Destroyer (very good but little too hard for the actual exam, but remember all the vocabs and etc.), KAPLAN Practice Exam (they were good practices and little difficult in my opinion), DAT Achiever (very good also but little too hard for the exam), and Cliffs AP Bio (too much detail but try to remember most of them and take notes from it). *BTW, I was already done with Kaplan Blue Book by the time I started studying in May.

I have read here from one of the SDNers about taking the time log, and I think that was a great idea. Starting March 1, I put the time I started and time I finished on the word file (I always studied with my laptop) and it was a good motivational factor for me. I was able to see how much I have studied or how much I have been slacking off at the same time so if you want, you should try to do this too.

I have 3.34 overall GPA (with bunch of pointless A's such as APs and credit by exam A's) and 3.07 Science GPA and 3.0 BCP GPA (which was my motivation to study hard for DAT). I go to #1 party school in US, and I really did not have a good GPA trend so DAT was my only way of showing the adcom my capability.

Starting with test,