DAT Experience/Score Breakdown

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

farzoo101

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Took the DATs today! I wanted to do a score breakdown since I know they gave me a lot of guidance and motivation while I was in the studying process.

Background: 1 year out of college, BS in biochemistry. I started studying the summer I graduated with the intention of only taking one gap year. In the process of studying the self doubt really got to me and I realized I would need another year to really beef up my application. I barely had any shadowing/dental experience (I didnt pick this as a career choice till half way through senior year), LOR were taking forever to be submitted and my application would have been completed late into the cycle. So second gap year here I come!

At this time I bought Orgoman's DAT destroyer as well as the Math destroyer (2014 edition). I also subscribed to Chad's videos and started watching the GC and OG videos and answering the questions. Once I decided to push back my application my motivation plummeted. I finished Chad's (TOOK NOTES ON EVERYTHING!), got half way through Cliff's AP bio 3rd edition, and didn't even open up the orgoman materials. I stopped all studying.

I didnt start studying again till February of the next year. I reviewed all my notes from chad's videos, and started outlining CLIFF's. MY NUMBER ONE MISTAKE: I didnt sign up for a DAT date, so I didnt have a set deadline to aim for. I would modify my deadline every week. End of march turned into beginning of april etc... I finished learning most of the material by April (2-3 hours studying a day).

I didnt sign up for my DATs till the beginning of june and took the only time available. Crunch time 2 weeks 3 days.

By section breakdown:

Biology