DAT Study Breakdown - 19AA to 22AA

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Isabella Razmi

Reaction score
Hello all,
Hope everyone is doing well and that DAT studying is going great for everyone! I took my DAT exam (for the second time) about a month ago now and received a 22AA: 22 PAT, 21 QR, 24 RC, 20 BIO, 21 GC, and 22 OC (21 TS). I would like to break down my score report and also explain how I went through the process twice, going from a 19AA to a 22AA.

My first round of studying:

I studied for the DAT for the first time during the summer before my third year of college. I used many sources including Chad’s videos, DAT bootcamp, DAT destroyer, Crack PAT, Feralis notes, etc. You name it I probably took a look at it.

For the beginning of my studying, I would split up my days by studying two subjects a day, 4 hours each. For example: Monday from 8-12pm I studied Biology and Reading, took a one hour lunch break and from 1-5pm studied Gen Chem and QR. You get the idea. I did this everyday except Sundays (rest days) for about 1 month.

Within the different subjects, I would switch between different sources and try to make the most of my time studying by hitting 2 subjects in one day very thoroughly. I did not have a great system for timing my practice tests. It is really hard to make your own schedule from scratch. I don’t recommend it. And, in my opinion, because I did not have as strict of a structure as most people, that is probably why I scored lower my first time around. I also was studying at home with my family and they were pretty distracting, which I do not blame them for but it definitely played a part lol.