DDS from Canada or US ?

Ava palindrome

Mar 20, 2020
    hey! I'm an Indian dental student. I'm planning to go for a DDS program. Can you please help me decide which country should I go to? I have heard that dental market in US is oversaturated , and is basically a gamble for foreign trained dentists. Please, can you guys give me some insights on the same?

DustFreeEraser

10+ Year Member
    Oct 9, 2011

The situation you have described for the US will happen to Canada within our lifetime based on the trend of # of non Canadian school grads exceeding # of Canadian school grads.

To answer your question, it might be better in Canada for now but it is already saturated in major cities.

Lolo88

7+ Year Member
      Sep 19, 2013
      1. Pre-Dental
        hey! I'm an Indian dental student. I'm planning to go for a DDS program. Can you please help me decide which country should I go to? I have heard that dental market in US is oversaturated , and is basically a gamble for foreign trained dentists. Please, can you guys give me some insights on the same?
        [/QUOTE]

Canada is oversaturated also, the income is lower and taxes are higher in Canada. Canada also has more competitive DDS program to get accepted into.

Last edited:
        Reactions: 1 user
        About the Ads

oralcare123

10+ Year Member
        Apr 13, 2010
          In order to make a decision you need to consider many more things, then just saturation
          First of all - are you eligible for an equivalency process? You might not even need to get DDS to practice in Canada
          The cost of tuition in Canada is much less then in the US, but a lot fewer seats available
          At the same time Canadians are much more tolerable to immigrants then Americans. Dentistry is saturated everywhere. If you do not have US residency, just having DDS is not enough to get it. You might have to work in a rural area for less money for years before you get green card