Dismiss Notice

Interview Feedback: Visit Interview Feedback to view and submit interview information.

Interviewing Masterclass: Free masterclass on interviewing from SDN and Medical College of Georgia

Dismiss Notice
Hey Texans—join us for a DFW meetup! Click here to learn more.

Decisions

Discussion in 'Pre-Dental' started by CTSballer11, Dec 5, 2005.

1. CTSballer11

CTSballer11 Senior Member
    5+ Year Member

Pre-Medical
    Hey, I have a couple of questions. Here is where I am coming from, I am currently a premed but I have been doing some thinking lately. I have some experience in the dental world. I have worked a little in a private practice that my mom works at and I have gone with her to some free dental clinics. (she is a hygenist). I am not sure which career would be a better choice for me. To all of you aspiring dentists, where any of you unsure which career to choose, if so why did you choose dentistry? What do you think are the major pros and cons of dentistry. Any other adivce would be great. Thanks.

2. Note: SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. onetoothleft

onetoothleft SDN Angel
    5+ Year Member

Dental Student
    here are some questions you can ask yourself:

Do I like working with my hands?

Am I an artistic person?

Do I value my free time (home life) to the point that I do not want it to suffer because of work?

Is earning lots of money is important to me?

Do I like the idea of owning my own small business (including hiring, firing, bookkeeping, etc.)?

Am I good at thinking 3-dimentionally?

Am I a perfectionist?

Am I a problem solver?

Do I like working with people?

I don't care if some people view my profession in a negative way.

If you answered "yes" to most of these questions or statements then dentistry is for you. They are the major differences between medicine and dentistry, although medicine can have some of these similarities.

4. I'mFillingFine

I'mFillingFine Pulptastic
    5+ Year Member

Dental Student