Depression in Vet School

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

klicka

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey all,
I am in my first year, but I am struggling a lot with depression. I cannot focus on school work, all I do is sleep. I have wanted to do this for so long and now that my dream has come true, I should be happy but I am not.
I am taking meds and they are helping, but it still feels weird. I should be happy- without drugs.
Does anyone else feel this way?

Members don't see this ad.

You are not alone. A few girls in my class are going through very similar things. We have counseling available at our school. Do you have something like that?
Personally I cannot relate... my husband is very supportive and (this might sound weird) I am a Christian, so that helps out a lot knowing that someone is watching out for me.
Hang in there. You're finally in vet school! Good luck.

My main advice is to go find someone trusted you can talk to. Our vet school has now partnered with a PhD psychologist that we can make appointments with if we need to discuss stuff. If you have a similar option, sooner than later is the way to go! In the mean time, take it one day at a time, try to eat well, get enough rest, work out when you can, and just remember...it's better to have a C average and be relatively sane than an A or B average and completely and utterly burnt out.

Members don't see this ad :)