Detroit Mercy

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Neurodent

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Just wondering who going to Detroit Mercy?
Can anyone provide some information on the overall admissions process there... update...interviews...class filled or not... etc...
Thanks

Members don't see this ad.

I'm a DS2 at UDM.

I'm not an expert on the admissions process but I can tell you how it worked for me.

I took my DAT in Nov '01, I sent out my applications in Dec '01. I was contacted by UDM in Jan '02 requesting Letters of Rec. a picture and the application fee. After this they started sending a monthly update as to what information they had and what information they still needed. I had my interview on Feb 18, 2002 and received an email from the director of admissions on Feb 19 stating that my acceptance letter was on the way but that she wanted to let me know right away (I had expressed concern about when I would know in the interview). I'm sure this quick turn around is fairly atypical.

One of my classmates had been on the waitlist and was accepted the first day of our orientation. In fact he had just dropped his girlfriend off for our orientation and was still in the parking lot when the dean called him. He was the only person at orientation to be dressed in jeans and a t-shirt.

The interview itself is low stress. I was interviewed by an upper level clinical instructer but I know that some of the first year didactic instructers also do interviews. The interview was conducted in the cafeteria, it lasted about 30-45 minutes it was more of a discussion than a formal interview. In fact he didn't even bring up my most embarassing stat; I did and he completely glossed over it. For the record, I failed Ochem II but took it again the next semester with a different professor and got an A-.