1. Dismiss Notice
  2. Download free Tapatalk for iPhone or Tapatalk for Android for your phone and follow the SDN forums with push notifications.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Hey Texans—join us for a DFW meetup! Click here to learn more.
    Dismiss Notice

Dexterity and Fine Motor Skills needed for Psychiatry?

Discussion in 'Psychiatry' started by asdfat, Aug 12, 2015.

1. asdfat

Pre-Medical
    Perhaps I am typing this in the wrong forum and if so mods please remove it, but I was wondering as a psychiatrist how often if ever do you need to utilize fine movements? Any examples? Since I cannot shadow a psychiatrist as an aspiring medical student, I felt like this might be a good place to find some answers. Thanks.

2. Note: SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. MacDonaldTriad

5+ Year Member

Attending Physician
    Never. If you can type on a key board, your good to go.

4. asdfat

Pre-Medical
    Thanks for the quick reply and that is great to hear. As someone with a minor disability I am trying emphasize psychiatry in my applications.

#3 asdfat, Aug 12, 2015
    Last edited: Aug 12, 2015
  5. heyjack70

heyjack70 Junior Member
    7+ Year Member

Not fine motor skills, but I've had to use gross motor skills to get away from a violent patient with psychosis.

6. whopper

whopper Former jolly good fellow
    Physician Faculty 10+ Year Member

Attending Physician
    You don't need it IMHO unless you're going to duck when a patient is about to punch you. Such skills aren't needed in outpatient, but in ER and involuntary inpatient yes. You don't necessarily need them if you're smart, savvy and the hospital has good security.