PineappleGirl

Sweet and Juicy!
10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
Sep 30, 2004
Boston
Status
I was wondering if anyone here has done Peace Corps and then applied to medical school?
What was your experience like?
Did you think it was worth it?
Is there anything you can really do to affect your placement?
(I am worried that because I have a degree in French, I would automatically be placed in West Africa. I would really prefer to go to Latin America and improve my Spanish).

Any comments on this much appreciated.
I did a search on SDN and noticed several people have mentioned Peace Corps, but not in any detail.

uptoolate

SDN Angel
10+ Year Member
7+ Year Member
Sep 13, 2004
Status
Yes- I did Peace Corps right after college (95-97-YIKES!). I then ended up as acting assistant director for the health program in my assigned country for about a year. There is very little about my current life that would be the same had I not done Peace Corps- it was an incredible and very valuable experience. That said, it was difficult and often lonely. Volunteers now have wide access to e-mail and often, cell phones, so its not like it used to be. I would sometimes go for months without speaking English to a native speaker, let alone talk to my mom- but things are very different now.

Your French degree would likely land you in a francophone country. You can request to wait for a Spanish speaking country but it will most likely extend the time it takes to find you a placement. It used to take about a year or so from submission of application to leaving for assignment- but I know people who have been processed more quickly. That said, the Africa region used to biggest in terms of number of active programs but there have been many closing in recent years while the LACRO (Latin America/Caribbean) region has been increasing a lot. So, it might not take as long as to get a Spanish speaking assignment it has in the past.