difficult choice

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

musicsung3

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone,

This is my first post here, and I'm in a difficult position. My childhood dream was to be an optometrist (please don't judge, I had good reasons), I shadowed OD's and never really saw any negatives involved with it. I just got accepted to the optometry school of my choice but now I'm having second thoughts because there are new optometry schools opening up and existing schools are expanding their class sizes. The retail stores and new technologies are making eye exams quicker, so getting patients is becoming very difficult. I've seen optometry practices close down because of a lack of patents.

I have been working one on one with patients for the past two years, I really enjoy it. I can get patient interaction as a OD, MD, or DO, so that doesn't really matter. I want be sure that I'll find a descent job after a 4-year professional school, no matter how much more hectic the life of a medical doctor is than an optometrist (I'll just give up the hopes of having kids someday..jk). I think medicine might be a great choice, because there isn't a real oversupply of MD's or DO's. I feel really stupid for not going for it in my junior year of undergrad, that's when I applied for optometry. Now I'm a senior, I can either start optometry school next August or I can apply for medical schools and see if I have a shot.