pharm89

10+ Year Member
May 19, 2006
Status
Pre-Pharmacy
I'm so disappointed in my PCAT score, even though this is my first time taking the PCAT. I thought I prepared very well for the June test and ended up composite of 66 :( I will be taking it again in October but feel as though I will not do much better because I spent a long time preparing for it using Kaplan, Barron's, and the Harcourt practice exams. Do scores really improve by retaking the PCAT?
Here's my individual scores:
Scaled Score Percentile Rank
Verbal 405 60
Biology 390 37
Reading Comp 389 33
Quantitative 426 87
Chemistry 431 89
Composite 408 66
Writing 4

My GPA is around 3.75 and I have been a non-certified pharmacy tech for about a year. I also have shadowed pharmacists at various setting and have some community service.
I just feel really discouraged after getting back my PCAT results. It seems as though you need at least 80 to be a competitive applicant. Also, my state only has one pharmacy school. I'll be applying to Madison(in state), Midwestern CCP, Minnesota, Creighton, and probably adding a school that does not require the PCAT.
Do you guys think I have a chance? :confused:
Any feedback would be appreciated.

pharmacazoid

10+ Year Member
Jul 26, 2006
Status
Pharmacy Student
With pharm experience and a good GPA there is still a chance, don't lose faith. However, the PCAT is designed as a measure of aptitude for how well you've retained the information you've learned. Although, I don't agree with the calculus portion being added to the exam (it's probably a means of making the exam more competitive since more people are applying). Most of the other material covered are subjects you should have a good grasp of once prerequisites have been completed. For your biology I recommend using the online PCAT professor, the math is useful as well but lacks in the calculus department. I did not find the chemistry portion of the site to be useful.