DO GMO applying to allopathic residencies

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Beantown D.O.

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I don't believe this question has been posted yet...

I graduated from osteopathic school, took COMLEX only, completed naval internship, and currently finishing my GMO tour. At the time, did not anticipate applying to ACGME residency. Therefore, didn't have any reason to take the USMLE, which may be a disadvantage. That is why i am asking these questions. I will be applying to the more competitive residencies... EM or GAS.

For those who have gone through this stressful process or about to embark on the craziness, please provide some guidance....

1) Just from talking to few colleagues, the fact that we are GMOs (whether D.O. or M.D.) gives us a slight edge. Is there any truth to this?

2) Secondly, what is considered a "competitive" COMLEX level 1 & 2 score for allopathic residencies?

3) For those who matched to competitive residencies, do you mind listing some stats? And any pearls on the application/interview trial?

Any info much appreciated. Thank you!

Members don't see this ad.

The selling point of the GMO tour is that it makes you more mature and allows you to develop leadership skills that a traditional applicant (fresh out of medical school) is not going to have. I think it's up to you to bring this home on the interview.

The selling point of the GMO tour is that it makes you more mature and allows you to develop leadership skills that a traditional applicant is not going to have.

Replace "mature" with 'disgruntled' and "leadership skills" with 'an ability to put up with an infinite amount of bull****' and you've hit the nail on the head.

Members don't see this ad :)