Do I even have a shot?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

fr5w

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I graduated undergrad in '04
I had a horrible gpa - 2.8 cummulative, 3.0 major :(
B.A Biology

So....I decided to do a postbacc in 2005 at my state med school, and got a gpa of 3.8 :thumbup:

[I was pre-dental at the time, never pre-med, but was faced with a choice....Dental school or MPH]

In 2005-2007, I did my MPH in London, England (forgot all about dental school)

So here I am in 2009, I finally had my epiphany and seriously thinking about med school for 2011. This is why:

-I have ALL the pre-requisites
-I received a high gpa at a post-bacc, which hopefully should count for something
-I did my Masters in Public Health with a thesis in global health
-I want to be able to combine my MPH and an MD degree to do research, especially in global health --> basis of hopefully a strong personal statement, and to answer the question "why now?"
-I have until March 2010 to study really hard for the MCATs, and get some volunteering/shadowing experience in.

What do you tihnk? Do I even have a shot?!?! or does my gpa just blow me out of the running. Taking the first step to commit to the application process is huge...i'm so confused! :confused: Any help would be great. Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

May I ask what your cummulative GPA for college and post-bac are? I don't actually have any advice. Rather, I'm in a similar situation (cGPA is 3.26), and I'm also wondering what my chances are.

Alot of depends on the mcat, maybe u'll get a 43, then w/ this score many schools are going to be open for u. Everybody has a chance, just study hard for ur mcat.

Members don't see this ad :)