Do I have a chance? 2.9 GPA

somedude14

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello I graduated with a 2.9 GPA and I'm wondering if I can get into a decent college. I got a 980 on the SATS. I failed algebra 2 and retook it and got a low D. I took some honors classes but got C's or worse in them. Never took an AP class. I didn't have any extra curricular activities or clubs except I ran track and played baseball but got hurt so couldn't play anymore. Now I'm going to try to go to college and try to get a good job instead of baseball. I was a bit of a trouble maker in school but I was able to get 2 decent letters of rec. I would like to apply to these schools if anyone knows anything about them: Pitt, Penn State, and Westminster College. Could I get any scholarships too? I want to be a neuropsychologist I think.

Thanks for any help.

Members don't see this ad.

If you are a PA resident, you may be able to get into PSU, maybe in one of the Commonwealth campuses. Depending on your major, after 2 years you are eligible to move to Main.

If you don't get into PSU, do a year at CC and then apply.

PSU is amazing.

Sorry i dont think you have a chance at Pitt.

Im sure you might have a chance at PSU but not University Park..but hopefully if you get into another PSU campus you can transfer to Upark
in 2 years. HAve you tried studying to retake the SATs? With that low of
a GPA you can still get into a decent school with a high SAT score.

I know a friend of mine who goes to Penn State Abington had a 3.2 gpa, but he had a 1600 out of 2400 SAT score..and he will be transfering to Upark in another year.

Members don't see this ad :)