Do I have a shot ?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

John Q

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a 22 year old african american male that went to a "southern IVY league school" where I had a 3.1 GPA. I attended grad school there for a year and also had a 3.1 GPA. I graduated from grad school in the summer with a masters degree in a biological science and now I work in clinical research at a medical school in the south. I should be apart of 2-3 publications within the next year.

My best friend and roommate passed away at the end of my sophomore year in college and I had a huge drop in academic performance for 3 semesters (spring 09 to spring 10). Instead of taking taking incompletes and finishing in the fall, I was so over school that just took the exams and bombed them. In retrospect, I shouldn't have but I wasnt in the best state of mind. I was down and out for a year as I tried to cope with my loss living in the 2 BR apartment that meant for my buddy and I. I recovered for senior year, and my GPA if you subtract those bad semesters is 3.35

I have 3 publications (2 of which I am the first author), have volunteered alot, traveled to South America to do service work, and worked as a medical scribe in emergency pediatrics and general ER for 2 summers in undergrade.

I also participated in undergraduate biomedical research programs for 5 summers from high school to my senior year in college. I've worked in underrepresented communities as a tutor and as a health educator (HIV/AIDs and STD awareness/prevention) and most of my service work has been with youth and underserved communities.

I have yet to take the MCAT (studying currently) and I would like to attend a US MD school. I am willing to go anywhere in the country to do so.