Medical Do I have enough non-clinical volunteering?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Goro

Lifetime Donor
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello,

I'm considering applying in this upcoming cycle. I'm a former career paramedic who decided on pursuing medical school. My stats are as follows:

GPA: 4.0 (20 credits left) in Biomed with a minor in Philosophy

MCAT: Taking it 5/29 (COVID depending). Last practice exam 513

Research: 75 hours in biophysics (still researching, hoping for a publication) with 200 hours in philosophy of science concentrating in climate change ethics and epistemology (sent off for publishing by PI who is listing me as a research assistant; second author pubs in philosophy are extraordinarily rare)

Volunteering: 100 hours with foster kids approx 4 years ago. Starting 2 years ago I joined Crisis Text Line but had to slow down due to work. Picking it back up and hope to have approx. 100 hours over the last year. In addition, I've co-founded a medical response unit on my campus that is offered free of charge to students, faculty, and guests on the campus. I put in leadership time by writing medical protocols alongside my MD adviser as well as operations protocols. In order to staff this, my organization on campus teaches an Emergency Medical Responder course. I've volunteered over 450 hours to get this program off the ground. In addition, I've put in over 300 hours in clinical volunteering to make this happen.

Shadowing: 25 hours pure EM. During paramedic school was required to rotate through surgery, ICU, peds etc... so I can speak on my varied contact with physicians of all kinds though this wasn't formal shadowing.

My question is: how is my non-clinical volunteering going to factor in to this equation? Even with a stellar MCAT should I be even considering an application this year?
I think that you're fine

Members don't see this ad.