Do I have hope?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

peachy!

Reaction score
Hello everyone! I just wanted to know if you think I have a chance of getting accepted this cycle. I completed my optometry application in mid-Aug. I wrote my OAT in Sept and did extremely horrible (260 ouch). I suck at organic chemistry and it plummeted my score. I even bought the Kaplan self-paced course and textbook. Here are my sad scores:

RC: 280
GC: 290
QR: 270
Physics: 240
Bio: 250
OC: 210
TS: 240
AA: 260

I had my interview with Salus and MCPHS in Sept. After 3 weeks, MCPHS waitlisted me. Salus sent me a letter saying that I need to re-take the OAT and they haven't made a decision yet. I booked my OAT around the end of December. I also booked the GRE for this October just to try it out and see if I get a decent score (did anyone take the GRE?).

Here is some background about me: I'm a Canadian student with a 3.2 GPA, about 100 hours of shadowing, president/vice-president of 3 clubs at my uni (includes pre-optometry club), and plenty of volunteer experience (hospital/eye clinic). I applied to UIWRSO, Salus, MCPHS, Western, ICO, Nova, KYCO, and University of Waterloo (Canada).

Please give me your honest opinion of what you think? I'm so worried that I will mess up the OAT again :'( it's just so hard for me

Members don't see this ad.

Your GPA and extracurriculars are fine. That OAT does need to come up a bit. I think you have a decent chance with Salus and MCPHS if you get your AA to a 300 minimum. I think your more than capable if you stick to a study schedule and use the right materials(CHADS VIDEOS ARE THE BEST).Even with your competitive GPA and extra curricular, your current scores won't get you in. Maybe the GRE will be better for you, assuming the school you applied to accept that test.

Reactions: 1 users