Do I have the right idea?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

jabenson

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey there y’all,

I graduated back in 2015 with a degree in film and no intention of going to grad school. After being in the workforce for a couple of years now (post production), I find myself wanting to pursue a PhD in psychology.

I am undecided on the specific field (debating between clinical and cognitive), but want to begin preparing as soon as possible. I graduated with a 3.43 GPA from a very good school but my only psych and stats classes were taken at the community college I transferred from.

My current plan is to enroll in psychology classes at my local CC to gain a clearer picture of the area I’d like to pursue in addition to possibly finding research opportunities. Since I am also working full time, I’d like to save up enough money eventually to apply to a formal Post-Bacc program to further solidify my understanding and increase my competitiveness. The Berkeley Extension Program seems like a very attractive choice due to the reasonable cost and reputation, but the lack of integrated research opportunities makes me consider taking the Post-Bacc Program through the Psychology department instead.

Does this all sound right? I never thought I’d be applying to grad school so I’ve been trying my best to learn as I go. If I were able to secure solid research experience while attending CC, could I forego the Post-Bacc program and apply directly for my PhD or are CC credits perceived as disreputable? Any and all insight is greatly appreciated. Thank you!

Members don't see this ad.

Hey there y’all,

I graduated back in 2015 with a degree in film and no intention of going to grad school. After being in the workforce for a couple of years now (post production), I find myself wanting to pursue a PhD in psychology.