Do I have what it takes?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Bears1725

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello, I am going to be a sophmore at Miami University and my first year I majored in Business and I did fine but thinking about pursuing Dentistry. My questions are do I really need to change to a Bio or Zoo major to have a shot of getting into a Dental School? Is it simply to late in the game for a change? The other thing is that my reading comprehension is average would this really hurt me on the Dcat? Is there like an ACT score that shows what your capable on the Dcat or is it more just a matter of studying for the Dcat? There is a practice that I could join when I am older, I just don't know if I am capable of making the transition to get into a Dental School. I'm just worried that if I don't get the good grades I am stuck with a Bio major and new graduate school degree.

Any advice would be appreciated.
Thanks.

Members don't see this ad.

You don't need to major in biology - a business major or whatever major you want is fine. You just need to take the prerequisites: 2 semesters each of biology, chem, ochem, and physics. Depending on where you want to go, some schools might require an additional class or 2 (usually biochem, anatomy, microbiology, or calculus). Your major doesn't matter, but your GPA does.

It's not too late to change - even if you can't finish the prerequisites by the time you graduate, you can take the classes afterwards. I personally feel that a business background will be helpful for when you are running your own practice. But you can major in whatever you want as long as you also take the science prereqs.

People who aren't great readers can still do well on the RC section of the DAT. It just takes practice and finding a strategy that works for you.