Do I Honestly Stand A Chance?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

eyevee

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a 3rd yr med student set on going into anesthesiology. Problem is that my grades and step 1 score are middle of the road, with not a lot of extracurricular involvement to speak of in terms of research, organizations, etc. However, the reason for a lot of this is that I have two children and a wife that works full time. Hence I have had to really make sacrifices in my studies to be a full time parent. With that in consideration, do you think that I have a shot of landing an anesthesia residency. I know that I will obviously not get love from the more presitgious and popular programs. But do you think that if one truly has the desire to go into anesthesia that there are enough positions to accomadate him? Would getting involved in departmental research over the course of the next year significantly improve my standing? I believe that I have all the other qualities that programs are looking for, i.e. hard working, gets along well with others, etc., the academic marks are the issue that I am concerned with the most. Thanks for any advice in advance!

Members don't see this ad.

You most definitely can match! A couple of things you should consider to help you chances:

1) Rotate at a couple of anesthesiology programs that you have interest in and land some solid letters. If you can get a letter from someone who is well known then that alone will land you interviews.

2) Take your USMLE II before you send your ERAS out (or in sept) , that way the programs can get your score while they consider you. That is if you feel your step I score is hurting you. This shows considerable effort on your part, which is a good thing.