SF83

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
Jun 16, 2005
Status
I have been seeing doctors who have both DO and MD written after their name- how is that possible? Does that just mean they went to DO school but took both COMLEX and USMLE?

Taus

15+ Year Member
Feb 1, 2005
Philly
Status
Attending Physician
3 options that I'm aware of:

1. Were foreign MD's who had a tough time getting US residencies and went to a program like NYCOM's to get a DO.

2. Bought the MD degree during the merger in California in the 1960's

3. Used a current program through some Carribean school where DO's can take a brief course and get an MD.

jonb12997

I'm a doctor!!
15+ Year Member
Jul 31, 2003
Wherever I go, that's where the party's at!
Status
Attending Physician
or it's AT Still, who's still alive, working with Elvis at a Burger King in Kalamazoo Michigan... ;)

About the Ads

Pharos

10+ Year Member
7+ Year Member
Dec 4, 2004
Northeast NY
Status
jonb12997 said:
or it's AT Still, who's still alive, working with Elvis at a Burger King in Kalamazoo Michigan... ;)
That's excellent!!! :thumbup:

SuperDOgirl

SuperDOgirl
10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
Oct 27, 2005
Boston
Status
Pre-Medical
Taus said:
3 options that I'm aware of:

1. Were foreign MD's who had a tough time getting US residencies and went to a program like NYCOM's to get a DO.

2. Bought the MD degree during the merger in California in the 1960's

3. Used a current program through some Carribean school where DO's can take a brief course and get an MD.