DO residents in California - any advice?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

stardust379

Live what you love.
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi all! :)

I'm currently a first-year osteopathic medical student at a medical school located in the Midwest. I'm from California and am desperately wanting to go back to the West Coast (specifically somewhere in SoCal) for residency.

I want to pursue emergency medicine at the moment. I generally know that for DOs, it's a little tougher to secure a residency in a state as highly sought after as California.

I know it may be a little too early to think about this, but does anyone (especially someone who is currently a DO and a resident in a California hospital) have any advice? I just don't know where to start in terms of how to boost my competitiveness for a California residency. I know I'd have to pretty much kill it on the board exams, but what else? I'm planning on taking both the USMLE and COMLEX. Also, does research really play as heavy a role as everyone else says it does? I'm trying to get in some research experience as I don't have any solid publications or poster presentations during undergrad.

Any advice would be appreciated!

Members don't see this ad.

I just don't know where to start in terms of how to boost my competitiveness for a California residency

The path is the same. High boards, research, good LORs (SLOEs for EM), and great aways. That's the formula for having the best chance at literally anything from FM to Neurosurgery.

Also, does research really play as heavy as a role as everyone else says it does?

Yes. When programs get lots of applicants it's an easy way to weed applicants out. No you don't need a first author in NEJM but having some output and decent experience helps.

Reactions: 1 users
Auditions will be your only hope. Even then, I wouldn't bet on CA.

Reactions: 3 users
Members don't see this ad :)