Do upper level math classes, or would a math minor, look good or have any impact

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Samiamm

Membership Revoked
Removed
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm majoring in biochem at my university, and I'm required to take Calc, Calc 2, and differential equations. I'm one math class away from a minor in mathematics, but I know I won't use any of this as a physician. So, just a thought, do upper level math classes look good on an app, and if not, would a minor in mathematics be something that makes you "stand out" or even look better?

Members don't see this ad.

I'm majoring in biochem at my university, and I'm required to take Calc, Calc 2, and differential equations. I'm one math class away from a minor in mathematics, but I know I won't use any of this as a physician. So, just a thought, do upper level math classes look good on an app, and if not, would a minor in mathematics be something that makes you "stand out" or even look better?

Your major and minor make very little difference on your application. What is more important by far is your EC's and overall GPA.

Do you like math? If so, get the minor. If not, don't. It's not that big of a deal. It won't help you or hurt you too much either way. Do something you are passionate about to stand out.

Members don't see this ad :)

Very little chance of it having any real influence on your application. If you do it, do it because you want to, adcoms won't care.

Hold on, you can get a math minor at your university with Calc I, II, Diff Eq, and one more course? You would need at least five more math courses at my university...

Hold on, you can get a math minor at your university with Calc I, II, Diff Eq, and one more course? You would need at least five more math courses at my university...