Do you like your job?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Propofol482

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi my name is Chris, i'm new to SDN. I've been a CPhT for almost 3 years now, i've worked 2 years in retail and almost 1 in hospital. To be honest I hate being a tech, mainly because I didn't take that test and pass it to be thrown in a drive-thru or at a cash registar for 8 hours. The hospital was a bad experience all together. I want to go to medical school, but I am seriously considering applying to pharmacy school next year, because you still get to help people in a way and also get to have a life beside work.

Do you guy's(pharmacist) like your job or do you wish you would've went into something else? I know there's other options like being a drug-rep or do research, but I do want to make a nice living and retail is where the $ is. That aside, I just would like to see if most of you are happy with the career you chose. I just don't want to dred going to work everyday like I did while being a tech. Any advice will be appreciated.

Thanks

Members don't see this ad.

You might dread the work in retail, but you'll love that paycheck. Grab an MBA or something while you're at it so that you can jettison into something related when the burnout hits.

i have been working for 3 1/2 years now in the retail sector... currently a pharmacy manager

working with customers... especially some of the 'needy' ones can get irritating.... answering drug info questions is fun b/c it really shows the clients that pharmacists are knowledgeable sources of info... not just pill counters..

i guess, for my situation, ... i only do like max: 150 Rx a day (two pharmacists/two techs) so i find my job to be low stress...

compensation is good.... considering i do half the script cound of most other stores in my company and still get paid the same.... bonus is a dift story tho...