Does undergraduate school matter? CA CSU v UC

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

princesspeach2

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone,

Please forgive me if this has been asked before (and kindly direct me to the link) I tried advanced searching and was unable to find an answer. Do graduate schools (particularly funded clinical psychology PhD programs) care about where you received your undergraduate education? I am a community college transfer student, transferring next semester, and trying to decide which school to go to (if I can get in, UC Berkeley/UCLA/Irvine) vs a CSU. I'd personally prefer the CSU for the cheaper tuition, less competitive environment, and typically smaller class size, but I am aware that there are more research opportunities, etc. at a UC.

I dropped out of college after failing my first semester right out of high school, and took a 5 year break from school to work full time. I have completed 3 semesters so far, 12-16 credits each semester, and working ~24 hours each semester with a 4.0 GPA. Currently on my 4th semester, on track to get a 4.0, work min 30 hours/wk, and volunteer once a week as well.

While I am not 100% certain I want to go into a PhD program (I need more experience to decide, currently jumping back and forth between wanting to go into a health field (was pre-vet, then pre-med, currently interested in physical therapy) or go into mental health/psychology), I do want to make wise choices that will benefit me if I choose to go that route. I like to keep as many doors open as possible.

Each school has its own set of classes required for transferring (for major classes, and just G.E. classes), so I am trying to make a decision so I can plan my classes accordingly

Thank you for any feedback!

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 1 user