localsocal

10+ Year Member
Nov 27, 2008
Status (Visible)
I graduated from a US allopathic med school in 2007. I never went into residency, as I am pursuing other interests. I'm taking Step 3 in a few weeks, in order to finish the Steps and lock-down my scores forever.

I live in New York, which has a 1 year requirement of post-grad training in order to get a license.

Can I do company physicals, OCC physicals, etc? I see it as a good way to earn some cash while I'm pursuing my other interests.

I'm guessing I can't moonlight, right? I'm assuming I'd need a license for that.

Thanks!

howelljolly

10+ Year Member
Aug 30, 2007
Status (Visible)
  1. Resident [Any Field]
If you are without a license, and you are practicing medicine, then ipso facto you are practicing medicine without a license.

Winged Scapula

Cougariffic!
Staff member
Volunteer Staff
Apr 9, 2000
forums.studentdoctor.net
Status (Visible)
  1. Attending Physician
If you are talking about insurance company physicals, believe me those that I have met are NO WHERE near actual physicians and do not have medical licenses. Most of these simply involve someone taking your vitals and reviewing your medical history; it is not practicing medicine.

Otherwise, h-j is right, you can't practice medicine without a license. So moonlighting is out (besides the fact is that most places won't hire you to moonlight as a physician with only a year of residency).

About the Ads

localsocal

10+ Year Member
Nov 27, 2008
Status (Visible)
If you are talking about insurance company physicals, believe me those that I have met are NO WHERE near actual physicians and do not have medical licenses. Most of these simply involve someone taking your vitals and reviewing your medical history; it is not practicing medicine.

Otherwise, h-j is right, you can't practice medicine without a license. So moonlighting is out (besides the fact is that most places won't hire you to moonlight as a physician with only a year of residency).