DPT's calling themselves doctors and physicians...WHY?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

PTbecomingDDS

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I used to manage a clinic where I had several DPT staff PT's. As I student, I was pro-DPT as I felt this would reflect the credit load a PT student completes in school; however, I now have doubts regarding this clinical doctorate. One, it is misleading. Several years ago, I started seeing 'chiropractic physician' as titles for DC's, and it makes me wonder if this is the route of PT where I will start seeing 'Physical Therapy Physician' (give it time, it will happen unless state law prohibits it) listed somewhere. Talking to undergrads interested in PT, it appears they are more focused on the title than the actual practice of PT. I just saw a myspace profile of a DPT where the opening quote is "Trust me, I am a doctor!" How pathetic. As for my staff, I had one PT that continued to use the title 'Dr." when signing paperwork. I informed her to stop as one of my largest referral MD's is an old school doc and I know he would not appreciate receiving paperwork from a PT signing off as a 'Dr.' I tried to explain to her that this was bad business but she felt she had earn the right. She did earn the right but not at my clinic costing me possible referrals. Another staff DPT caused me a huge headache as she decided to fill out all the physician paperwork when she was getting enrolled for all of our accepted insurance companies costing me a lot of time to correct it...the documents cleary indicate the forms are for PHYSICIANS. The result is we lossed some of our reimbursement as the DPT was not a licensed PHYSICIAN. I think DPT schools need to remind PT students that they are physical therapists with a doctor of physical therapy degree and not physicians. This same PT also asked me why the MD's received higher continuing education and their association fees