This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

pasteldegato

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello, Im a USA citizen, I'm currently studying in Mexico a Masters in Biochemistry in the Universidad Nacional Autonoma de Mexico (UNAM).
What do I need to study an MD in USA? What tests, documents, etc. I face a great lack of information since I dont know anyone who is familiar with the procedures to make your mexico education valid in the US to be considered as pre-med.
I used to be interested in an MD-PhD but i looked up the statistics and realized I´realistically would not make the cut for an MD PhD. An MD-JD also seems attractive but I just read in a forum here that those are not funded :( and debt I fear. So maybe i´ll just fantasize currently with only an MD.
But I would also like to know my chances to get into a California University (whichever since educating myself in California is my dream), or Wisconsin, Michigan...you name it, any descent state University.
I ask this because a great fear drags me down; I recieved my bachelors degree in clinical laboratory from the ****ty Universidad de Tamaulipas, so I drag behind my fellow classmates in biochemistry :(
Hope i explained myself. Thanks a lot!

Members don't see this ad.

You can go to medical school in Mexico and do a residency in the USA. If you wish to go to medical school in the USA, call the admissions office of several schools and request an information packet concerning personal documents needed and related requirements.

Practice your English speaking and writing skills.

I think most (if not all) US MD schools require you to have done a bachelor's in the US. That being said... you could do your medical education in Mexico then do your residency in the US. (This is hard to do, but possible). Somebody more knowledgeable could correct me if I'm wrong though.
Buena suerte!

Members don't see this ad :)
Did you take the prerequisites in the US?