Dropped Optometry School

This forum made possible through the generous support of
SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

droppedoptometry

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Today I dropped optometry school in my home state. I was a first year student. I am a Biology major, and I picked optometry because I didn't want to do med school and wanted to be on the periphery of health care. I shadowed optometrists and I thought it would be a really cool and chill job. Another reason I picked optometry was because I thought it would be an easy route to $100k out of all the health profession careers (I was wrong about that). I never attended med school, but looking at other threads and med curriculums, I could say the first 2 years of optometry school are most likely comparable to med school. The stress of optometry school was getting to me. I was not doing bad in optometry school, I just honestly didn't like it. Why do I have to take classes such as biochem and micrbio (which I took in undergrad)? Will I ever have to synthesize orgaic reactions in my career? Because of this, I had less time to focus on classes that deal with the career such as optics and ocular anatomy. I feel like the opmetry program could be less than 4 years if they just focus on the classes for our careers. Also, It just felt like all I was doing was memorizing, which is not my strong suit. I know the curriculum gets more complex and the classes get more difficult (anterior/poster segment disease, pharmacology, etc...) I told myself I don't want to be killing myself for 3 years, and then work 40 hours a week during externships 4th year. I also felt that if I had to drop, I had to drop now, so I could cut my losses.