Dumb question, but is there any harm in putting my new job on my secondaries?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Maybedoc1

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello all,

This is probably a dumb question, but I'm wondering if I should be putting my new job as a mountain bike patroller on my secondaries? I worked as a ski patroller (after getting my EMT-B) this past winter where I was able to individually treat nearly 100 patients in 4 months. I lead all of patrol and it was a really good, albeit uncommon premed experience. I was hoping to get a job as a ER tech/on an ambulance this summer/fall and I was enrolled in a EMT-IV certification class, but it was canceled because of COVID. Since I don't have my IV certification I can't get those jobs.

A week ago some of my old coworkers called me and asked if I would be interested in doing mountain bike patrol until labor day. I said sure and started a couple days ago. It's similar to ski patrol where we mainly respond to medical injuries on the mountain/in the base area, however we don't get as much calls as ski patrol. We also do trail work and stuff like that.

Most of my secondaries are submitted, but I'm wondering if I should be putting this on the remaining ones? I guess my only concern is how it looks. I was already a little worried about taking the ski patrol job because I didn't want it to look bad to adcoms (is he ski bumming instead of doing research/something more traditional). I'm serious about medicine, but I've chosen somewhat unconventional ways of getting experience. I think they've been valuable and have lead to great patient interactions (for example, 2 days ago I helped someone with a broken collarbone and today I helped someone with a dislocated shoulder), but still I have this concern in the back of my head.

Members don't see this ad.