During residency interviews, how many programs paid for hotels?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Buttermellow

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a 4th year med student applying to IM and am setting up a budget for interviews, and trying to get a feel of how many programs might pay for hotel expenses or give a discount. I'm applying mostly in the midwest to academic programs. If you wouldn't mind commenting how many of your interviews included hotels fully/partially paid for, what type of program (academic/community), and where (generally) the program was, it would be very helpful!

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 1 user
I'm a 4th year med student applying to IM and am setting up a budget for interviews, and trying to get a feel of how many programs might pay for hotel expenses or give a discount. I'm applying mostly in the midwest to academic programs. If you wouldn't mind commenting how many of your interviews included hotels fully/partially paid for, what type of program (academic/community), and where (generally) the program was, it would be very helpful!
I went on 16 interviews. One place paid outright. 5 gave discounts (some of which were solid, some of which were a joke). The others suggested a variety of lodging options.

For residencyy 0 paid but most had deals set up (still was ~100/program). For fellowship only 1 paid.

Members don't see this ad :)
Only one program paid. It was a wealthy program in a rather remote place. The rest may have reduced rates, but don't count on it being cheaper than booking yourself.

Most of the posters who have answered so far interviewed long before I did.

I went on over 20 interviews, many to community programs and the Midwest. Those programs are most likely to pay for hotel or offer significant discounts, although many academic centers did as well.

So a few years back, it was all the rage that programs did this