Dyed Hair as a Medical Student

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

emcatb

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a medical student between my first and second years of medical school - enjoying my summer before the pain of boards studying starts! I currently have my natural dark blonde hair color but I can't stop thinking about dying my hair a fun color - specifically purple. I realize this isn't really a professional choice and obviously won't fly in the clinical setting as a student so is now the time to try it as all I am doing is studying anyway? Or is it just a really bad idea since I will be interacting with clinical faculty who may judge me for it and standardized patients who might complain about it? Is now my last chance? Or has the time already passed for that? Are there any docs out there that have brightly dyed hair? Is there a safer middle ground if I only get a couple streaks? Should I just do it quick while summer's still here and dye it back before classes start up? Any thoughts would be appreciated.

Members don't see this ad.