East Coast Cardiology Programs

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

lub-dub

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Dear colleagues,

I am currently a 2nd year IM resident applying to Cardiology (for 2007). I have attended college, med school, and even IM residency all in the west coast. However, I am curious about the east coast programs such as MGH, B&W, Hopkins, Duke, Yale, Georgetown.

1. Any info/scoops on these programs? pros? cons?
2. If you are to rank them, what is your rank list?
(Inputs from east coast folks are much appreciated!!!)

Thanks and best wishes!

Members don't see this ad.

From what I hear, you can't go wrong with any of those; I went to med school and undergrad and am doing my residency on the East Coast. I unfortunately don't have any specific feedback on the programs you mentioned, but I would caution that well-reputed state school affiliated fellowship programs on the East Coast tend to take their own and may not be worth as much of a look unless you went there for residency (and likely, med school). These places really tend to take their own.. Examples include UMASS, University of Maryland, UNC, etc.. Of those you mentioned, my personal preferences would be Duke (warmer weather) and Yale (no competition as Yale is the only show in town). But everyone values something different; Boston is a beautiful city (albeit expensive and COLD), and DC is fun as well (although also expensive and not easy to get around in in spite of the spiffy Metro).

I'm looking to move west in a few years; may even apply for Cards. Any particular West Coast programs I should keep in mind (community programs included)? Any thoughts on UCSD, Arizona, UNM, UCLA (and any affiliates), UCI, Loma Linda, USC?

irlandesa said: