EC Quandary....

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

BeachBlondie

Put some tussin on it!
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I didn't yield any results for this question, and I'm tired of searching.

We're all well aware of the kind and caliber of EC's that are expected from us. But, would it be a problem if they came from the same location? Or are the EC requirements in effort to force pre-meds to branch out to a variety of places/experiences?

(Context purposes: I'm a post-bacc student and I need to work to live. I have to pay my tuition, bills, rent, ad nauseum. So, I work full-time as a clinical research tech in the orthopedic biomechanics and biomaterials lab at a major medical center. Because of this, by the time I apply, I will have over 3,000 hours of research time, lots of patient contact, radiology experience, and will have shadowed for more hours than I can count in the OR. That's all well and good, but is this one-stop-shop seen as some form of corner-cutting because it all comes with the job?)

P.S. I've got volunteer and leadership stuff in my background prior to this job. But, my current position is what I'm asking about.

Members don't see this ad.

I think it's a fantastic position with loads of good experiences for medical school. I would love to have a job like this currently.

Do you have any other ECs or major hobbies? I would worry that they wouldn't see you as "different" enough. Although, I'm sure they understand your need to work. Lots of us need to pay the bills....

I think it's a fantastic position with loads of good experiences for medical school. I would love to have a job like this currently.

Do you have any other ECs or major hobbies? I would worry that they wouldn't see you as "different" enough. Although, I'm sure they understand your need to work. Lots of us need to pay the bills....

I was worried about them overlooking some of it, I suppose...