EC question..?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Gutierrez001

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
HI
I am new to this the pharmD forum,lately I have been looking into Pharm school(I am currently pre-med) and i still dont know if i want to go to med or pharm school. My question is about volunteering , i have been volunteering at a clinic as an ER-tech and i wondering if i were to apply to pharm school would this count as EC on my application to pharm school.THANKS

:) Aslo what is the AVG. GPA for applying to Pharm school? Also does the PCAT work?THANKS

Members don't see this ad.

Gutierrez001 said:
HI
I am new to this the pharmD forum,lately I have been looking into Pharm school(I am currently pre-med) and i still dont know if i want to go to med or pharm school. My question is about volunteering , i have been volunteering at a clinic as an ER-tech and i wondering if i were to apply to pharm school would this count as EC on my application to pharm school.THANKS

:) Aslo what is the AVG. GPA for applying to Pharm school? Also does the PCAT work?THANKS

Yes, that would count as an extracurricular, either that, or if you are getting paid I guess that would be under work experience. EC's to me are things such as organizations, or sports you're involved in.
Each school has their own average gpa, but I would say as a whole it's probably sitting around a 3.4-3.5 at this time and it keeps going up each year. Remember these are just averages so that means you have people at the very high end, 4.0, and at the lower end, 3.0. One school I applied to had an average of 3.7 for last year, but they have a forgiveness rule.
I'm not sure what you mean by "does the PCAT work"??
Hope this helps.

thanks , I meant how does the PCAT work?

Members don't see this ad :)
Ok.... I didn't have to take it when i applied for school so i may not be the best person to answer this but........