EMT 2 medic 2 MD

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

lakerzfan36

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
hey everyone

I have a little dilemma, and I need advice badly...I talk to my counselors and academic advisors but nobody really has a definitive suggestion, so hopefully some of you can throw your suggestions at me!

I am a sophomore, premed of course, finishing my first semester of year 2 in 2 weeks...I am at a state school mooching off my parents for tuition which they pay 100% of :D

I love emergency medicine, and became an EMT to get experience, serve as a job in undergrad, and to motivate myself by seeing the light at the end of the tunnel by seeing what EMS is all about while I do my premed (of course the EMT is just a side thing)

I recently was hired by the local volunteer fire department, after becoming an EMT I learned all about FIRE/EMS, and how they are combined and fell in love with the combination, but my goal is still, to go to med school. My parents arent exactly supportive of me working at the fire department as a firefighter/EMT, because they think that I am sidetracking from my ultimate goal, which is not at all the case. I love fire/EMS to death but like i said, my ultimate goal is still, to be a doctor. The volunteer fire department is an amazing oppurtunity, as it allows me to gain experience and do what I beecame an EMT to do...it also provides us with a firefighter 1 cert after about a year with on the job training, an excellent plus, (just incase i decide to work at a fire department while in med school or anything, for those of you that dont know, you have to have your firefighter cert to work on a 911 unit even if all you want to do is EMS) and since this department is volunteer, they provide us on the job training and the cert