Endocrinology, neurology, psychiatry, surgery... PhD/MD...

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Mel Belle

Cooler than absolute zero
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
These are the specialties I'm interested in. Since I'm a freshman in undergrad I know I have plenty of time to figure this out, but I was curious about what people have to say about these specialties.

Unbeknownst to me, I entered college not knowing how popular an interest in neurosurgery was. Perhaps for some people it's the money. I mean, I definitely wouldn't be opposed to a salary like that (Louboutins!), but I just love the nervous system. And I love dissections. Fixing things. Painstakingly tedious work. I thought it would be something I'd like to do. Even working that many hours. Until I realized how many hours I wouldn't have to spend with the future family I'd like to create. I'm not necessarily giving this dream up, but I am looking to explore the other possibilities. Either way, if I'm aiming for something as difficult as neurosurgery it will keep me working hard in medical school.

Neurology by itself I feel like I have less interest for. Actually, I feel as though I have less interest for specialties in general that aren't surgery... But I imagine the lifestyle for physicians in neurology, endocrinology, and psychiatry are better than a neurosurgeon, at least if you look at hours a week. (Correct me if I'm wrong.) I love the nervous system, but being just a neurologist and not at all a surgeon doesn't seem as "fun" to me. I use the term fun lightly because I'm well aware that surgery is not an easy field. But I do like it.