ENT as an IMG?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

PAN627

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Hi, I am currently an MS 3. I am a US-IMG interested in Oto. I graduated rank 1 from my medical school, won the deans award of basic sciences, was a neurosci tutor, Before Med school I had previous experience as a OB/GYN med assistant, and had a surgical observership. MY GPA is 3.99 and my step score is 229/95 :(. I actually began looking into ENT because I was interested in facial plastics. My cousin who is a radiologist suggested me to look into ENT instead of doing general surgery then a plastics fellowship. The idea sounded exciting after I looked through 85 program websites, until I looked on NRMP and saw the high step scores of matched applicants ! :(. I am very interested in ENT currently and am planning on getting involved in some research to add to my application.Do I have chances if I apply as my only choice to all 85 programs? I read on a program website that if we apply to other programs ( say general surgery) and they find out, that they think we are not committed and won't like that. however, the only reason I would is because I don't want to remain unmatched. I am female, and delaying for another year would not be feasible for me. Any advice or suggestions?

Honestly, as a IMG with a Step 1 10 points below the mean, your shot at a spot are very slim (but not impossible). You could probably match at a mid tier gen surg program, from which you have a better chance of matching into general plastics. I would at least plan for that as a backup. And if you can't give up one year for buttressing your app for ent + fprs fellowship (6 total years), clearly general plastics after surgery (8 years) is out of the question. So I'm not really sure what to tell you. :confused: