ENT or Plastics?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

dexterous

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi, i hope this isn't a spicy topic for too many, but,

what are the big differences between plastics, specifically facial, and otolaryngology head and neck surgeons?

i am in my third year and have conducted research that i guess would qualify for both fields, but i can't seem to get a feel for which direction i would prefer to go

ent seems to offer the chance to do more clinical/pathologic related work, and has one year less of residency (5 v. 6), but i thought some insiders might have the scoop on jobs or whatever else i have missed

plastics seems to afford the diversity of the entire body if wanted, while ENT seems to have diversity of the head and neck operations performed (cosmetic, biomedical devices, cancer, etc...)

are the work hours, pay, patients, excitement, or general levels of satisfaction different between the two?

thanks for the help

Members don't see this ad.

On the whole, PRS and Oto are as different as Uro and Ortho. OK, maybe thats a little bit of an exaggeration. There is some overlap, especially in the facial plastics realm and recon, but the average PRS will do a variety of whole body plastics stuff, including hand, burns, recon, and also cosmetic (both face and body)

Oto's do some cosmetic facial plastics, but also do: peds, cancer excision, head and neck recon, otology, neuro-otology, sinus, voice, facial trauma.

"are the work hours, pay, patients, excitement, or general levels of satisfaction different between the two? "

In a word: yes

ENT also has a little more of a medicine side to it than Plastics, in my observation. This can be good or bad depending on your preferences.

Members don't see this ad :)
TheThroat said: