ENT texts

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

kilroth

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey everyone, I thought I would start a discussion on the different textbooks important for an ENT resident. I'm an intern and just ordered KJ Lee's Essential Otolaryngology. Hopefully, I will get through it this year and move on to Cummings or something more in depth next year. Cummings looks like an encyclopedia!

Anyone else have different ideas? Will I cover everything with this route? Also, I have a palm for a cell phone and was wondering if there are any software programs related to ENT. I'm happy with my pocket pharm booklet.

Thanks,

kil

Members don't see this ad.

I'm a PGY-4 resident. As far as review books go, I'm a big fan of Pasha's book. I also recently paged through one of my co-resident's copy of the Lange book, which also looked pretty good (much more text and pictures than Pasha, which has an outline format). I don't have any direct experience with K.J. Lee, but I know plenty of people use it.

My program buys us Baileys for our text, so I obviously use it. I think it's pretty comprehensive. If you have to buy your own text, I'd recommend Baileys because a) it's cheaper and b) Cummings is available on MD consult for free (you can probably access this through your institution's library website).

I also have the Lore H+N surgical atlas which is good but a little dated in some parts.

One good review book, a textbook, and an atlas are probably all you need for the first 2 years of residency, after which time you can buy more books tailored to your specific interests.

Don't forget that you will also be subscribed to one or more journals and will get a home-study course packet every 3 months.