Enterpreneurship medical device academic vs private practice

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Medstd*+

Reaction score
As a medical student, I think that (and i may be wrong) most surgical innovations and medical devices come out of physicians from universities and I find they are co founders to many devices.

But Dr John Alder, Stanford neurosurgeon who invented gamma knife surgery said in the surgeon agent interview that he would actually have been in private practice in todays world and innovative spirit is much easily nurtured in private practice world than in academic.

So are there even more constraints to innovations and enterpreneurship in medical devices in academic world though I always see big medical innovations coming out of universities?
If so what are the constraints ?
Can research and clinical trials which are essential for this be done in private practice or is academic < big university name > a must here for grants??
What practice should be pursued for innovation and enterpreneurship in medical devices?
Please help i am really confused.
Any knowledge is appreciated very much. Thanks

Members don't see this ad.

As a medical student, I think that (and i may be wrong) most surgical innovations and medical devices come out of physicians from universities and I find they are co founders to many devices.

But Dr John Alder, Stanford neurosurgeon who invented gamma knife surgery said in the surgeon agent interview that he would actually have been in private practice in todays world and innovative spirit is much easily nurtured in private practice world than in academic.

So are there even more constraints to innovations and enterpreneurship in medical devices in academic world though I always see big medical innovations coming out of universities?