la gringa

Senior Member
10+ Year Member
Oct 14, 2004
847
13
esse quam videri
Status
Attending Physician
my hospital just made the switch. am having a tough time adjusting to the massive amount of clicking and typing. have had overuse thumb issues in the past and that's only part of it.... takes forever!

scribes are still in training, hospital is not getting Dragon to the ED docs for at least 3 more months.

any tips? i know, macro this, dot phrase that.... but HPI and MDM is not so easy to "macro"

i have colleagues who bring a laptop or computer on wheels in the room, but i cannot practice medicine with a computer in my face. terrible, terrible for the dr-patient interactions. i DO still like taking care of people!!!

and FWIW i used Cerner w/ Dragon previously and it was so much easier - i think the key factor was the "precompleted notes".

any advice is welcome, thanks!!! (40 charts in the hole)
 

Doctor Bob

EM/CC
10+ Year Member
Feb 12, 2009
1,834
2,249
Orlando
Status
Attending Physician
I spent 8-10 hours in the computer lab before our hospital went live with Epic. I made so many dot phrases for HPIs of all varieties. And then it was a matter of replacing all the "***" that I scattered throughout the HPIs. I had a ton of templated physical exams, etc, etc. I basically made a bunch of EpicTSheets equivalents with all little variations.

That 8-10 hours paid for itself many times over throughout the next year as it saved me a lot of time per chart. But it's not something you can easily do while at work. Kind of takes a dedicated day.
 

Psai

This space for lease
Removed
5+ Year Member
Jan 2, 2014
11,519
23,499
ヽ(´ー`)ノ
Status
Resident [Any Field]
I spent 8-10 hours in the computer lab before our hospital went live with Epic. I made so many dot phrases for HPIs of all varieties. And then it was a matter of replacing all the "***" that I scattered throughout the HPIs. I had a ton of templated physical exams, etc, etc. I basically made a bunch of EpicTSheets equivalents with all little variations.

That 8-10 hours paid for itself many times over throughout the next year as it saved me a lot of time per chart. But it's not something you can easily do while at work. Kind of takes a dedicated day.
You should sell it
 

Crayola227

The Oncoming Storm
5+ Year Member
Oct 22, 2013
15,937
17,754
All of Time & Space
Check out some of my intern related posts previously I talk about ideas for getting more out of Epic

I posted here and I'll try to come back with those tips
 

LaBusqueda

7+ Year Member
May 25, 2011
104
16
Status
Attending Physician
I had a dot phrase chart that was a standard. Had labs, past hx, meds all imported automatically with dot phrases imbedded into the note...my thought is that with scribes this would be awesome.
You can dot phrase in the smart block HPi if you want instead of text too.
 

southerndoc

life is good
Moderator Emeritus
Lifetime Donor
15+ Year Member
Jun 6, 2002
12,110
1,115
Atlanta
Status
Attending Physician
Be leary of macros and dot phrases. CMS is tinkering with the idea of data mining charts for similarities. Cut-and-paste type charting (dot phrases, smart phrases) are a landmine for RAC's. So be sure to change a few things in your charts to keep everything somewhat unique.
 

cbrons

Ratatoskr! *Roar*
10+ Year Member
Jul 29, 2007
6,567
3,639
DEFEND MIDDLE LANE!
Status
Non-Student
You can get dragon to the point where you say, "insert chest pain template" and itll bring right up a specially designed note for the situation.

Why are u hiring scribes when you got the dragon?
 

LaBusqueda

7+ Year Member
May 25, 2011
104
16
Status
Attending Physician
I think dot phrases will be safe.

I am also a Dragon fan and with "advanced scripting", which is really nothing advanced at all, you can tell dragon to put in orders for you as well such as "dragon, insert chest pain order set 1", Etc.
 

TooMuchResearch

i'm goin' to Kathmandu...
Lifetime Donor
10+ Year Member
Oct 21, 2008
5,372
1,595
Townsville, USA
Status
Attending Physician
I think dot phrases will be safe.

I am also a Dragon fan and with "advanced scripting", which is really nothing advanced at all, you can tell dragon to put in orders for you as well such as "dragon, insert chest pain order set 1", Etc.
I should probably figure out how to build my own order sets and how to get dragon to order them.

...Or you could hand hold me through it real quick here.
 

styphon

Senior Member
10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Jun 25, 2001
713
275
New york
Status
Attending Physician
I love EPIC.

I use Macros and "smart sets". I individualize these so they do not look like carbon copies, but a UTI/sprain/URI note will take me around 1 minute to finish.
 

WilcoWorld

Senior Member
10+ Year Member
Nov 2, 2004
3,018
1,777
Status
Be leary of macros and dot phrases. CMS is tinkering with the idea of data mining charts for similarities. Cut-and-paste type charting (dot phrases, smart phrases) are a landmine for RAC's. So be sure to change a few things in your charts to keep everything somewhat unique.
You are correct that we must be careful. However, my understanding is that, as long as you actually asked the questions/did the exam you say you did, and you review the auto-populated data, dot phrases are totally legit and would stand up to a review.

That being said, making sure you actually did your standard chest pain (or whatever) H&P and reviewed the auto populated data are no small tasks.

I am in the habit of doing certain standard things on every patient, so that my dot phrase exams are honest. As such, I'm sure some of my patients wonder why I'm checking them for CVA tenderness when they're complaining of a headache...
 

gutonc

No Meat, No Treat
Staff member
Administrator
10+ Year Member
Mar 6, 2005
18,355
11,310
Status
Attending Physician
I should probably figure out how to build my own order sets and how to get dragon to order them.

...Or you could hand hold me through it real quick here.
This may not be possible for you. Every hospital system I have worked at that used Epic (4 so far) restricted creating order sets to Super Users. You could do so if you were willing to do a 3 day course in Wisconsin (on your own time and at your own expense of course), or if you knew who to bribe/sleep with at your hospital.

The best option most of us have is to add common orders and order sets to a preference list. Although I honestly find it easier (after nearly 10 years of using Epic) to just type the orders in directly.
 

LaBusqueda

7+ Year Member
May 25, 2011
104
16
Status
Attending Physician
This may not be possible for you. Every hospital system I have worked at that used Epic (4 so far) restricted creating order sets to Super Users. You could do so if you were willing to do a 3 day course in Wisconsin (on your own time and at your own expense of course), or if you knew who to bribe/sleep with at your hospital.

The best option most of us have is to add common orders and order sets to a preference list. Although I honestly find it easier (after nearly 10 years of using Epic) to just type the orders in directly.

Yes the "sets" will be system specific and usually too order heavy to be useful, although you can customize what is "pre checked"

You will be able to build your "preference list" in the preference list composer and just choose order preference IP (OP for DC meds/orders)
These are essentially your own sets! These can also be shared and borrowed from other docs in the system!
You have to put in work on these though as you have to be sure your hospital has it, what dose, route, concentration, and all that crap. I have a separate order pre don for just about every possible med and route of admin.
You can also sort these in any way you think is logical or works for you.

It's from here that I have dragon do the work as well. The dragon super user showed me how to do it and it was easy (but time intensive) from there...I got pretty silly with it to be honest. But I had dragon sign charts, cosign, put in orders all by voice command.
 

DrYoda

Space Cowboy
10+ Year Member
Jun 22, 2008
13,817
110
Dagobah System
Status
Attending Physician
my hospital just made the switch. am having a tough time adjusting to the massive amount of clicking and typing. have had overuse thumb issues in the past and that's only part of it.... takes forever!

scribes are still in training, hospital is not getting Dragon to the ED docs for at least 3 more months.

any tips? i know, macro this, dot phrase that.... but HPI and MDM is not so easy to "macro"
I've just made generic template notes for most of the common complaints just click through and replace *** spots with what tooth number hurts, or how long the pain has been present. It's takes a few minutes to do but totally worth it in the end.

Sucks you don't have dragon or scribes yet. should be better once you do.
 

Old_Mil

Senior Member
10+ Year Member
Nov 19, 2004
2,091
577
50
Earth
Status
Attending Physician
Have you tried using a touch screen device?. A surface pro 3 or samsung galaxy tab pro might help if your goal is to eliminate mouse clicks.. If your IT department has a BYOD policy you can get a device like this and even add dragon to your personal device before the hospital makes the move.

Sent from my awesome Ubuntu device using the Forum Browser app
 
OP
L

la gringa

Senior Member
10+ Year Member
Oct 14, 2004
847
13
esse quam videri
Status
Attending Physician
part of the problem, i think, is that they want us to use the "notewriter" function. not sure if this is enforced though....

Mil - problem w/ own device is that they can't be on the network. the physician wireless doesn't let one maintain an ongoing connection. argh.

they did move the dragon date up, so that's a plus.... though scribe + dragon is imho the best. i've done it elsewhere w/ a different emr.
 

CopToEM

Livin' the Dream
5+ Year Member
7+ Year Member
Jun 3, 2009
1,362
46
Southeast US
Status
Medical Student
I've successfully installed Dragon on a thumb drive in the past and used it on a computer that didn't have it installed. I haven't tried this in many years but it's something to look into to make your life easier if possible. The Dragon Pro version does just as good a job as the medical version in my limited experience.
 

Angry Birds

Angry Troll
7+ Year Member
Dec 4, 2011
1,275
1,553
Status
Attending Physician
I had epic in residency.

I type really fast but clicking slows me down. So what I did was skip to the final note and use dot phrases for everything instead of templates. Even my physical exam was a dot phrase, which I would then edit for positives. This minimized the clicking and waiting for screens to load.

But I guess this would only work if you are a fast typer.
 

WilcoWorld

Senior Member
10+ Year Member
Nov 2, 2004
3,018
1,777
Status
part of the problem, i think, is that they want us to use the "notewriter" function. not sure if this is enforced though....

Mil - problem w/ own device is that they can't be on the network. the physician wireless doesn't let one maintain an ongoing connection. argh.

they did move the dragon date up, so that's a plus.... though scribe + dragon is imho the best. i've done it elsewhere w/ a different emr.
I've ignored the notewriter function in favor of my preferred templates for 4 years and nobody's said a word, yet...
 
  • Like
Reactions: TooMuchResearch